wrestle zone uk

Viva La Raza! The Legacy of Eddie Guerrero DVD (4 Discs)Review

November 29, 2008   ·   0 Comments


Viva La Raza! The Legacy of Eddie Guerrero DVD (4 Discs)

Review By Paps for Wrestle-Zone.co.uk

This is a Silver Vision EXCLUSIVE which includes BOTH the RAW and SmackDown Eddie Guerrero Tribute Shows on a special bonus 4th disc. Only Silver Vision in the UK and Europe is offering this set.

Silvervision.co.uk is the only place you will be able to get this DVD set in time for Christmas. Get it first, why wait?


Disc 1

The Complete Package

Vickie Guerrero Early Eddie

ECW World Television Championship Match
2 Cold Scorpio vs. Eddie Guerrero
Hardcore TV April 8, 1995

Dean Malenko A New Style in ECW

ECW World Television Championship Match
Eddie Guerrero vs. Dean Malenko
Hostile City Showdown April 15, 1995

Jim Ross Arrival in WCW

Eddie Guerrero vs. Shinjiro Otani
Starrcade December 27, 1995

Ric Flair US Title

United States Heavyweight Championship Match
Ric Flair vs. Eddie Guerrero
Hog Wild August 10, 1996

Chris Jericho Battling for Respect

United States Heavyweight Championship Match
Eddie Guerrero vs. Chris Jericho
SuperBrawl February 23, 1997

Rey Mysterio Striving for Perfection

WCW Cruiserweight Championship Match
Rey Mysterio vs. Eddie Guerrero
Nitro November 10, 1997

Dean Malenko Rivalry Renewed

WCW Cruiserweight Championship Match
Eddie Guerrero vs. Dean Malenko
Starrcade December 28, 1997

Chavo Guerrero Adapting Wrestling Styles

Eddie Guerrero vs. Ultimo Dragon
Slamboree May 17, 1998

Chavo Guerrero Ring General

Juventud Guerrera vs. Eddie Guerrero
Nitro August 3, 1998

Vickie Guerrero Car Accident

Psychosis vs. Eddie Guerrero
Thunder June 24, 1999


Disc 2

Chris Jericho Latino Heat

European Championship Match
Chris Jericho vs. Eddie Guerrero
RAW April 3, 2000

Matt Hardy Master of Psychology

King of the Ring Qualifying Match
Eddie Guerrero vs. Matt Hardy
SmackDown! June 8, 2000

Jerry “The King” Lawler Frogsplash

WWE Intercontinental Championship Match
Rob Van Dam vs. Eddie Guerrero
Backlash April 21, 2002

Jeff Hardy The Perfect Wrestler

WWE Intercontinental Championship Match
Eddie Guerrero vs. Jeff Hardy
RAW April 29, 2002

Edge The Conclusion

No Disqualification Match
Edge vs. Eddie Guerrero
SmackDown! September 26, 2002

Chavo Guerrero Los Guerreros

WWE Tag Team Championship Match
Team Angle vs. Los Guerreros
Backlash April 27, 2003

John Cena Low Rider

Latino Heat Parking Lot Brawl
John Cena vs. Eddie Guerrero
SmackDown! September 11, 2003

Chavo Guerrero Sr. Family Rivalry

Eddie Guerrero vs. Chavo Guerrero
Royal Rumble January 25, 2004

Vickie Guerrero Champion

WWE Championship Match
Brock Lesnar vs. Eddie Guerrero
No Way Out February 15, 2004

Extras
Los Guerreros Vignettes
Los Guerreros Vignette Baby Carriage
Los Guerreros Vignette Pool
Los Guerreros Vignette Low Rider
Los Guerreros Vignette Golf
Los Guerreros Vignette Valet
Los Guerreros Vignette Outtakes


Disc 3

Rey Mysterio True Champion

WWE Championship Match
Eddie Guerrero vs. Rey Mysterio
SmackDown! March 18, 2004

JBL Heated Rivalry

WWE Championship Match
Eddie Guerrero vs. John “Bradshaw” Layfield
Judgment Day May 16, 2004

JBL Wrestling a Live Wire

Steel Cage Match for the WWE Championship
JBL vs. Eddie Guerrero
SmackDown! July 15, 2004

Michael Cole Entertaining

WWE Championship Series
Eddie Guerrero vs. Kurt Angle
SmackDown! April 14, 2005

Rey Mysterio Born with Charisma

Steel Cage Match
Rey Mysterio vs. Eddie Guerrero
SmackDown! September 9, 2005

Batista Losing a Friend

World Heavyweight Championship Match
Batista vs. Eddie Guerrero
No Mercy October 9, 2005

Remembering Eddie

Extras

Chris Jericho Meets Eddie for the First Time

Eddies Final Match
Eddie Guerrero vs. Mr. Kennedy
SmackDown! November 11, 2005


Disc 4

RAW # 651 November 14, 2005

Vince McMahon Speaks About Eddie Guerrero

Eddie Guerrero Tribute Video

Remembering Eddie: John Cena

Eddie Moment: Eddie Sprays Big Show

Big Show & Kane vs. MNM

Remembering Eddie: Lilian Garcia

Eddie Moment: Angle Auction

Shelton Benjamin vs. Kurt Angle

Remembering Eddie: Shawn Michaels

Eddie Moment: Los Guerreros Vignettes

Remembering Eddie: Chavo Guerrero

Shawn Michaels vs. Rey Mysterio

Remembering Eddie: Batista

Divas Battle Royal, featuring: Ashley, Maria, Christy Hemme, Victoria, Melina, Jillian Hall, Mickie James, Candice Michelle & Trish Stratus

Eddie Moment: Eddie Wins the WWE Championship

Eugene vs. Simon Dean

Remembering Eddie: Triple H

Ric Flair vs. William Regal

Eddie Moment: Eddie Steals the Intercontinental Title

John Cena vs. Randy Orton

SmackDown! # 326 November 18, 2005

Batista Speaks About Eddie Guerrero

Eddie Guerrero Tribute Video

Eddie Moment: Family

Matt Hardy vs. Carlito

Remembering Eddie: Vince McMahon

Eddie Moment: Eddie and Vickie Guerrero

Legion of Doom vs. Lance Cade & Trevor Murdoch

Remembering Eddie: Booker T & Sharmell

Eddie Moment: Lie, Cheat, Steal

Remembering Eddie: Big Show

Eddie Moment: Eddie Guerrero & Mother

Remembering Eddie: William Regal

Remembering Eddie: Michael Cole and Tazz

Eddie Moment: Eddie Guerrero vs. Kurt Angle From WrestleMania XX

Remembering Eddie: JBL

Eddie Moment: Eddie Guerrero Wins the WWE Championship

Cruiserweight Battle Royal, featuring: Kid Kash, Brian Kendrick, Scotty 2 Hotty, Nunzio, Funaki, Tajiri, Gregory Helms & Mexicools

Eddie Moment: Latino Heat

Remembering Eddie: Dean Malenko

Eddie Moment: Eddie Guerreros Last Match vs. Mr. Kennedy

Remembering Eddie: Shane McMahon

Eddie Moment: Growing Up

Chavo Guerrero vs. JBL


 


Blurb: Eddie Guerrero was the most successful member of the three generation Guerrero family dynasty of wrestling superstars. Wherever he competed, be it Mexico, Japan, ECW, WCW or WWE, his matches were show stoppers and culminated in him winning the WWE Championship.
Viva La Raza: The Legacy Of Eddie Guerrero celebrates Eddie’s life with a collection of the greatest matches and moments from his career, including contributions from Eddie’s family & WWE Superstars including Ric Flair, Chris Jericho & JBL. This 3 DVD set plus bonus DVD is packed with highlight matches including Eddie Vs Brock Lesner for the WWE Championship at No Way Out 2004, a No Disqualification match against Edge from 2002, and a classic face off against Kurt Angle from the WWE Championship Series, SmackDown 2005. Also featured are the Raw and SmackDown tribute shows that paid homage to Eddie Guerrero following his untimely death.


Viva La Raza: The Legacy Of Eddie Guerrero, will be available at all good stores priced 29:99 from 12th January 2009, or can be ordered directly from Silvervision.co.uk, the UK’s official WWE DVD website, in time for Christmas 2008!

According to the promo info I recieved with the DVDs, this shouldn’t be released until the 12th January 2009, but if you go to Silver Vision’s website (silvervision.co.uk) you can pre-order this DVD set for a cut price of 17.99 instead of 29.99 and it’s available on 15th December! I’d go and pre-order it now if I were you! I know in America this was released in the week of the third anniversary of Eddie’s death, to celebrate what he achieved in life!
While I found it a little sad that the Benoit stuff was heavily edited out, other than an appearance by Nancy who was escorting Flair to the ring in one of the early matches on the discs, I don’t think it took anything away from the Eddie Guerrero legacy other than missing the stuff with the Radicalz. I understand why the WWE want to wipe Benoit out of their history books, and for me personally, I won’t forget what he did out of the ring, what he did IN the ring doesnt matter to me anymore and I applaude the WWE for omitting him, but that’s another rant for another day!
Anyway… back to the matter in hand and this fantastic offering, available in time for the perfect christmas gift for any wrestling fan! (No, IM not on commission! LOL)
I couldn’t wait to get home from work and rip into the package to watch this extensive 4 disc set covering the life of Eddie, with a lot of input from his widow, Vickie (a woman I admire more and more every week!) and from fellow superstars and friends of this amazing performer! It’s fantastic to hear what these guys have to say about their friend, Matt Hardy says Eddie was ‘real’ and always had time to teach. He was a master of psychology, listening to what the crowd did and reacting to it. He says he was a fan of Eddie and it was compliment to be able to wrestle him, saying “it was always fun wrestling with Eddie…. & for me it was an honour to be out there with Eddie Guerrero!” Jeff Hardy says “Meeting Eddie I was Starstruck! Later on working with him was just amazing. He was a good man that taught me a lot. He always gave 100%!” Just to hear the awe in their voices is enough to make you realise what a well respected and well thought of member of the locker room Eddie really was. Chris Jericho, a long time friend of Eddie says: “Eddie was a pioneer of the smaller guys breaking into the United States.” He goes on to say “When Eddie was ‘on’ he was the best. And he did with Chyna what he (Chris Jericho) couldnt do, make it entertaining! As soon as he got hooked up with Chyna that was the key to opening up Eddie Guerrrero’s character!” He also tells us a funny little story about when he and Eddie used to travel together and something that he was always hold dear to his heart… when he turned around in the car he was driving and Eddie had a water bottle top over his eye pulling a face at him and THAT he says will always sum up the character of Eddie Guerrero! It’s these stories that, to me, make these DVD’s so special. The matches are great, but most of them we’ve seen before and some of them we CAN see again, but these little stories and superstar interviews are what makes me want to go out and buy these things. Stuff that we would never know if not for these DVDs and, with four discs in this particular presentaion, there are a LOT of stories we didn’t know! Edge also shares his thoughts on Wrestling Eddie, saying their matches built up until they had their No DQ match on Smackdown. saying; “He was a pro and he wanted the best! I remembered the next day in the airport on the way home I looked at Eddie and said ‘what did we do to each other!'” He also remembers the standing ovation Eddie got after the match like it was yesterday, noting that Eddie being heel at the time, that didn’t usually happen but: “He laid it all out there, he really bared his soul and I think the fans recognised that that night. You can’t help but respect that in a guy and respect his world-class ability.”


The ‘Special Features’ on Disc 2 contain the Los Guerrero’s vignettes and they were funny on their own but we’re also treated to some outtakes from these vignettes and these are hillarious; I’d buy the DVD for these alone!


The entire DVD set is an amazing and fitting tribute to ‘Latino Heat’ and I don’t see what anyone would have to find wrong in it at all. I enjoyed every minute, my favourite moments being the ‘latino Heat – Chyna’ era and of course the Los Guerrero’s vignettes are classics that will be remembered for a long long time! I loved this DVD! Any fan of wrestling is going to enjoy watching these hours of footage and superstar/family interviews. I had the privillage of seeing Eddie perform live on several occasions and will never forget the crowd reaction he and Chavo got the last time I saw them; it was tremendous!
The only thing bad about these DVD’s is it made me realise just what we’re missing.. Eddie is a huge loss and I came away from watching these feeling that sadness all over again, but all it takes to put the smile back on my face is to remember Eddie… moving the tag line along the ropes so he can make the tag to his partner; clocking someone with a championship belt then tossing it to his opponent and looking innocently at the ref; throwing a chair to his opponent while the refs back is turned and laying on the floor writhing in agony and of course that Latino Heat ‘shimmy’ from the front seat of the low-rider! I don’t know any fan that doesn’t look back on these moments and others, fondly, with smiles on their faces! Everyone has their favourite ‘Eddie Guerrero moment’ and Im pretty confident that you will find most of your favourites on this 4 disc DVD set.
God bless Eddie, he was one in a million!!


 


paps




 

By


Readers Comments (0)


You must be logged in to post a comment.

Latest Articles