wrestle zone uk

Batista: I Walk Alone DVD Review

November 26, 2009   ·   0 Comments


Reviewed by Adam for Wrestle-Zone.co.uk

Five-time world champion The Animal Dave Batista is a study in contrasts. A self described loner from the mean streets of southeast D.C., Batista is known for his stylish appearance and laid back attitude. But in the ring he unleashes an explosive fury befitting his nickname. For the first time ever, fans of The Animal can relive his storied career with this 3-DVD set that includes a biography of Batistas life both inside and outside the ring. Batista himself guides us through a never-before-seen look at his rough and tumble childhood, his triumphs and tragedies, the pressures of being champion, and more. In addition to this revealing look at The Animal, this set features some of the greatest matches and moments from Batistas career.

Disc One

In-depth Batista Profile featuring:

Moving Around

High School

Bouncer

Meets Angie

Career Decision

Wild Samoan Training Center

Leviathan

Deacon Batista

Evolution

Winning the Game

Family Issues

Welcome to SmackDown

Tribute to Eddie

Philippines Star

Relinquishes the Championship

The Royal Treatment

Phenomenal Experience

On the Edge of Greatness

Show Stopping Moment

Celebrity Unleashed

Batista The Animal

Bonus Features

Hot Bread and Butter

Batistas Rough Neighborhood

The Biggest Lifeguard at the Pool

Leviathan: Demon of the Ohio River

The Animals New Suit

Dave Meets Alonzo Mourning

Respect for Eddie

A Gift for Chavo

Eddies Advice

Batistas Lunchbox Collection

Disc Two

OVW Heavyweight Championship Match

Leviathan vs. The Machine Doug Basham
Ohio Valley Wrestling November 28, 2001

Batista vs. Kane
Armageddon December 15, 2002

Batista vs. Shawn Michaels
Armageddon December 14, 2003

World Tag Team Championship Tables Match
Batista & Ric Flair vs. The Dudley Boyz
Royal Rumble January 25, 2004

Batista vs. Chris Jericho
Vengeance July 11, 2004

30-Man Royal Rumble Match
Royal Rumble January 30, 2005

World Heavyweight Championship Match
Batista vs. Triple H
WrestleMania 21 April 3, 2005

Hell in a Cell Match for the World Heavyweight Championship
Batista vs. Triple H
Vengeance June 26, 2005

No Holds Barred Match for the World Heavyweight Championship
Batista vs. JBL
SummerSlam August 21, 2005

World Heavyweight Championship Match
Batista vs. Eddie Guerrero
No Mercy October 9, 2005


Disc Three

World Heavyweight Championship Match
Batista vs. King Booker
Survivor Series November 26, 2006

Triple Threat Match for the World Heavyweight Championship
Batista vs. King Booker vs. Finlay
Smackdown! December 1, 2006

World Heavyweight Championship Match
Batista vs. The Undertaker
WrestleMania 23 April 1, 2007

Steel Cage Match for the World Heavyweight Championship
Batista vs. Edge
One Night Stand June 3, 2007

World Heavyweight Championship w/ Special Referee Stone Cold Steve Austin
Batista vs. The Undertaker
Cyber Sunday October 28, 2007

6-Man Tag Team Match
Batista, Triple H & Ric Flair vs. Randy Orton, Edge, & Umaga
Raw December 10, 2007

Batista vs. John Cena
SummerSlam August 17, 2008

Batista vs. Randy Orton
Armageddon December 14, 2008

DICS ONE

I wonder if any of the divas will talk about Batista in the documentary part of this DVD setdeep down I dont think it will happen.

A nice beginning with highlights of his career with photographs to accompany them. We officially start with Batista going around the area that he grew up (pretty much the same as every other singular superstar DVD.) We see his mother for the first time she sort of looks like the love child of Batista and Kathy Griffin. Dave grew up in Washington D.C. slums and talks about how hard he had it growing up. His mom looks awesome she has a bit of a hippy vibe about her and we get more about how hard his family had it in Washington. His mom tells a story about how people kept getting shot in the front garden.

Dave turns into a bit of a bad boy so his mother sends him to live with his father who kind of looks like Hector Guerrero. He talks about how hard it is for him to trust people thanks to his relationship with his father who is like a stranger to him. Batista began amateur wrestling at a late stage of high school. We get his high school coach telling us that even though being physically dominating on the mat he lacked experience so would most of the time lose matches that he should of won. Batista then talks about how he would leave school work till last until eventually it affected his grades that much that he became ineligible for wrestling during his senior year.

Batista then tells you to stay in school, and then get the transition from high school to bouncer by him explaining about how he was chucked out of his house by his father so he had to learn to survive on his own at a early age. OHHH.the picture of Batista with long black hair and a full beard makes him look like Rosey out of Three Minute Warning aka Super Rosey aka The Shit. We get his friends talking about how big he was and how huge he got thanks to bodybuilding. It had nothing to do with any illegal substances that are currently banned by WWE.

Batista then talks about his babies mother he has two daughters with her but fell in love with another woman. Then we get to see this ex wife and damn she isnt badbetter then Rosa Mendez by far. She refers to him as Superman, I think it is like the 12th time on this DVD already that he has been referred to being Superhuman. How sweet she said that he always looks sad and that she was going to be the one to put a smile on his face. Eventually his then girlfriend found out about him and his wife having nookie behind her back, but Batista seems to come off as the good guy in that situation trying to keep everyone happy and moved away with his baby mama. Eventually he gives up on his first marriage and moves back home to be with the woman he loved and within a few weeks both were married. We get the story of the wedding day think K-Fed and Britneys wedding but without jumpsuits (For British readers think Chris Evans marrying Billie Piper without alcohol.)

WCW is holding tryouts for a development so Batista decided to go down and try and become a professional wrestler. We get clips of Sarge at the Power Plant working some poor jobbers to a early grave. Batista states that Sarge has a Napoleon complex and it is true if you have seen Louis Theroux: Weird Weekends: “Wrestling” you will know all about Sarge and his training methods if you havent seen it I highly recommend you give it a watch. Sarge said that Batista will never become a pro wrestler, so Batista became pissed off with WCW so got his best friend to call WWEI am going to guess that it was still called WWF at that point. They recommended that Batista go and train at the Afa of the wild Samoans training camp. His wife and friends were fully behind Batista in his dream to become a pro wrestler.

We get a clip of Afa training camp which seems completely different to the training came out at the WCW Power Plant. Afa explains that he was still with the company at the time so it was his duty that he let WWE know about any talent he found that could make it in this industry. Afa eventually makes the phone call after four months to have a tryout match, the next day the E called him and signed him to a deal and sent him to Ohio Valley Wrestling. We close on a shot of Batista in full Leviathan gear. In OVW he learnt the ropes with a whos who of wrestling talent with people like Brock Lesnar, John Cena, Randy Orton and Shelton Benjamin. This is the biggest shame about this DVD so far and that is no Jim Cornette explaining the way he came up with the name Leviathan and bigging Batista up much like he did for Matt Morgan in the Rough Cuts TNA did a while ago. Dave himself bought the chain around the neck and he explains that many wrestlers complain about it after hurting their hand on it. Batista gimmick came before its time he had fangs before Rob Pattinson was even in Harry Potter but Batista explains that he was sick of spitting them out during a match. More clips of his time in OVW even a quick clip of Undertaker and him talking at a OVW event.

In 2002 WWE decided to finally call him up and put him with D-Von Dudley who at the time was doing his solo thing as Reverend D-Von act and Batista was placed with him as a Bodyguard/Enforcer type role. Ahhh that is the best Spinebuster ever.even better then Ron Simmons version. Batista credits D-Von saying that he needed to be with D-Von at that time and he wasnt ready to go straight to the top like Brock Lesnar had not so long ago. Eventually Batista broke away from D-Von as WWE sent him to spend some time and train with Fit Finlay because the E feared that he wasnt progressing fast enough to make it as a superstar.

Batista was then sent to raw and began his way to the top of the WWE food chain. Triple H and Ric Flair were starting up a new group to rival other legendary factions including The Four Horsemen and The New World Order. Both of them handpicked Batista and Orton to join them in Evolution. Batista knew that he was the enforcer of the group and that Orton was going to be the diamond in the rough of the group. We get to see Shawn Michaels versus Batista and then we see Dave winning the tag team titles with Ric Flair for the first time which he considers one of his best moments ever. Everyone knew that Orton was the next in line, everyone but Triple H because he visited the palace of wisdom just minutes before. 

This is my last favourite period of Batista, after Orton won the title at Summerslam he seemed to be catapulted to the top other the night. Batista was in the Intercontinental division all the way up to Cyber Sunday but as soon as Survivor Series came around he took over Orton as the next in line to become the next big star. We see the Royal Rumble 2005 when it comes down to Batista and John Cena both had been heavily pushed at this time.

Eventually Batista wins even though nothing is mentioned about the dodgy finish to the match. After the Royal Rumble he though that he didnt have time to react to becoming one of the top guys in the company. We get the video package of Triple H versus Batista at Wrestlemania 21, after the match it shows photographs of Batista going backstage and proposing to his wife in front of the entire company. His wife says it takes a really special man to give up his moment for her.

Triple H said go out and enjoy the ride being the main face of the company, Triple H also warned him that you have millions of eyes staring at you so dont let anyone down. Being the champion of the company took him on the road longer then before and eventually it started to strain on his marriage. It was during this time he got full custody of both of his daughters. His oldest daughter became pregnant and a agreement was made that her, the baby and the father of the child would come down to live with Batista after the birth of the baby. Then we see the ending of the marriage and the affects on all the relationships in the family. We get an emotional moment when Big Dave begins to get choked up when talking about his daughters boyfriend dying in an auto accident.

Not long after becoming champion WWE drafted him from Raw to Smackdown getting him away from the people he came up in this business with especially the likes of Triple H and Randy Orton. Michael Hayes tells us that everyone on Smackdown basically didnt like him or respect him as champion and felt like he didnt deserve to be champion so soon. Hayes also states that he didnt help his cause by his actions towards locker-room as well. Cameo of Palmer Cannon behind Batista it is a shame no one got behind his gimmick more anyway we see Eddie Guerrero being named number one contender to Batista title. Eddie soon became his number one fan, and helped him a lot in getting friends in the Smackdown locker-room. It looks like Batista is having the time of his life wrestling with Eddie. Batista says he doesn’t know if Eddie felt sorry for him or actually liked him. Chavo tells us the story that the night before Eddie tragic passing, Eddie told Batista how much he loved working with him. Chavo then says that Batista was probably hit the hardest by Eddies after people like Mysterio, Chavo and Beniot. After the events of Eddie death Rey Mysterio and Batista decide to team up as a tribute for Eddie who has partnered them both before his death. Now we find out about all the good things Batista does outside the industry. Batista then talks about WWE going on tour and it not just being a once a week job.

BEST LINE IN THIS DVD

Triple H: Yeah apparently some point in time along the way, Dave decided he was Filipino. I never knew he was Filipino, I dont think anyone knew he was Filipino. Erm somehow Dave research his ancestry and found a little Filipino.

Dave talks about his love for the Filipino people, and how scary it was to have loads of people coming just to see him. Then we go onto see him visiting sick kids and how lucky he is to be doing this for a living. Then we go back to the wrestling and to Batista giving up his first heavyweight title due to injury that was sustained during a match with Mark Henry after Mark squashed Batista. We see a shots of Batista surgery looks pretty sick but as we all know it was successful.

Eventually Batista came back and was placed in a program with the current World Champion at the time King Booker. Both of them have history with each other especially after a fight broke out between the two during the shooting of a Summerslam Commercial. Then we see the match between the two with Batista winning his World Title back. Then we skip ahead to Wrestlemania with Streak vs. Title, Batista vs. Undertaker and Batista talks about not being happy with management decision to have the match undercarding instead of main eventing even going so far to go backstage after the match and scream at the top of his voice follow that which cant of been appreciated by neither John Cena or Shawn Michaels. Then the DVD rushes through the rest of the feud with Undertaker onto his feud with Edge. Hayes says that Batista started trusting his opponents and finally caught on what it took to be a real star.

We skip onto the his feud with Shawn Michaels, we might get a couple of good matches out of them both but the best thing that came out of this feud and that was we finally got a heel Jericho and the feud of the year between Jericho and Michaels. Then we see Batista winning the title for the 4th time off Jericho at Cyber Sunday that year. Finally we get all the superstar talking about the future of Batista and we get to see him winning his 5th world title off Randy Orton. Everyone including himself are saying the future is bright for him and that even if he walked away today he would have had a amazing career.

Special Features

We get more personal stuff, first being him explaining the rules to Hot Bread and Butter a game that involves whipping other kids. Then we go to his mom talking about within a year three people were shot and killed in the front garden. So the family moved and then another shooting happened close to him. Then we find out about Dave becoming a lifeguard in between bouncing jobs I am guessing. Then we see the birth of Leviathan pretty much The Dungeon of Doom type promo videos of WCW. His suit that got his sleeves ripped off by WWE management. Dave meets Alonzo Mouring at a pool hall with Triple H and Dave gets upset because Alonzo doesnt know who he is. Then we have a whole section on Eddie which includes Dave talking about a match him and Eddie had where Eddie tried to do everything to get a crowd reaction, Dave giving Chavo Guerrero a motorcycle for free and Eddie’s Biblical influence on him. Then finally the most interesting thing about this first disc and that is his collection of lunchboxes.

Disc three

Match One

World Heavyweight Title: King Booker (w/Queen Sharmell) vs. Batista (11/26/06).

Before the match had even started, Smackdown General Manager Teddy Long comes out and announces that if Booker is counted out or disqualified then he will still lose the title to Batista. HERE COMES THE ANIMAL.Cole builds up the stipulation part of this match that it is do or die for Batista. How awesome was King Bookers music, anyway Batista goes straight after Booker attacking him in the aisle not wasting anytime time. Batista continues to hit Booker slamming his face into the steps before Booker can even disrobe. Batista continues to take out Booker and even nailing a suplex before setting up for a early Batista Bomb, but The King drops to his knee and goes to the floor to regroup. Booker gets back into the ring at the count of nine. Batista blocks the neck snap on the rope using his raw power to deliver one of his own. Booker takes control of the match after hotshotting Batistas ribs into the rope. Booker T continues to work over Batista with rights and left followed by a sidekick. Sharmell screams King Bookersee she was once useful as a manager once. Batista fires back blocking a Booker right giving him a right of his own and begins to take control nailing a sidewalk slam followed by a Jackhammer for two. I remember when that was a finisher, Batista nails a Bossman slam for another two count.

They begin to brawl on the apron until Sharmell interjects herself long enough for Booker to take control with a trust kick. Back into the ring Booker goes for a cover with his feet on the rope to give him leverage. Booker continues to hammer the animal down before locking in a Cobra Clutch to slow the big man down. Eventually Batista powers out of the submission to nail Booker with the belly to belly suplex. Batista then big boots him sending Booker to the outside, Dave follows the king out of the ring and throws him into steel steps before sending him back into the ring. BATISTA GOES TO THE TOP ROPE and nails are Dragonrana.had you going for a second didnt I. Batista nails a flying shoulder block for the two. SPINEBUSTER for another two. Booker nails the Bookend out of nowhere and gets a two of his own.

Booker is getting ready for the scissors kick but Batista blocks it and nails the Batista Bomb! ONE, TWO, and Booker gets his hands on the ropes. Sharmell gives the title to Booker and begins to distract the ref as Booker swings at Batista with the belt only for Batista to duck under and kick Booker in the stomach. Batista has the belt and Batista nails Booker with the belt for the win. This was a alright match and never seem to dragged but saying that the whole feud lacked something as everyone pretty much knew that Batista was eventually going to win the title off Booker sooner rather then later at the time. I believe that Booker was underrated as King Booker and this match showed that personal differences can be set aside to deliver a decent match. 2 out of five for me.

Match Two

World Heavyweight Title: Batista vs. King Booker (w/Queen Sharmell) vs. Fit Finlay (12/01/06).

Booker comes down not looking best pleased as JBL says that he was robbed on Sunday night after losing the title the way he did. Finlay comes down and as a ex member of the Kings court had some words for Booker. HERE COMES THE ANIMAL, Batista gets into the ring and starts things out by slamming both Finlay and Booker before throwing Finlay into Booker. Finlay begins to back off Batista  into the corner where Batista starts to control Finlay eventually nailed the Green River Plunge. Booker takes control of Batista with a eye rake, as him and Finaly form a partnership to take care of Batista. Dave begins to clear house after nailing them both with clotheslines as we go to commercial.

As we come back we see Booker in control as Finlay is trying to walk off his bad hip on the outside. Booker goes for the cover only for Finlay to run in and break it up. Finlay pulls Batista onto the apron after taking out Booker and kicks him into the head before going to slam Bookers face into the steel steps. Finlay begins to take out Batista slowly and methodically working over his neck. Batista escapes from the sleeper hold on the floor and sits him on top rope and delivers a Muscle Buster!.seriously how many people does he want to steal off? Booker and Finlay take control after Booker strung Batista onto the top rope with a axe kick for a two count. Finlay and the King take turns pinning Batista before finally turning on each other. Sharmell begins to rake Batista eyes as Booker takes Finlay to the outside and throws him into the steel steps. Booker continues to control Batista nailing a jumping side kick. Eventually Booker T and Finlay get back on the same page as Finlay starts laying forearms. Finlay looks at his shillelagh and grabs it but Nick Patrick says No! Finlay drops it as the champ power back knocking Finlay out of the ring as Batista goes to work on Booker.

Batista and Booker continue to punch each other as The Little Bastard comes from underneath the ring to give Finlay another shillelagh. Little Bastard jumps into the ring and begins to distract Nick Patrick. Finaly uses this to his advantage as he gets into the ring and nails Batista in the leg and Booker in the midsection for a two count on Batista. Finlay continues to work on the leg until Booker kicks him in the face why he has a half boston locked on Batista. Booker goes for a scissors kick on Batista who side steps it and nails Booker with the spine buster. Batista then sets up Finlay for a Batista Bomb but Finlay reverses it by punching Batista injured leg, Batista goes for it again and nails it for the three count. Not a bad match for a Smackdown Main Event I just think that this match was let down by rest holds. This should have been just a singles match in my opinion between Finlay and Batista because it hurt Booker more then helped him by not getting pinned in the match. Both Finlay and Booker were made to look stupid thanks to Batista super human strength and will power. This gets 2 out of 5 for me.

Match Three

World Heavyweight Title: Batista vs. The Undertaker (04/01/07).

We now skip forward to Wrestlemania 23 and it is Streak versus Title as Batista took on the legend of Wrestlemania The Undertaker. When this match first happened I wasnt really that bothered as I am not a huge Batista fan as it is but maybe rewatching it will make me change my mind about it. Both going in as fan favourites doesnt help the match at all because the crowd are all on Takers side and that makes Batista seem more eager to go out and try to punish Taker which makes the opening seems abit tense. Then we get a back and fourth in the corner with Batista hitting him with rights and left and his shoulder as Taker comes back with soupbones. Eventually the fight spills out onto the outside where Batista eventually throws Taker into the steel steps of doom. Back into the ring and Batista nails undertaker with a Flying Shoulder Tackle  which Michael Cole has never seen him do that before.hmmm so what was Michael Cole doing at that Survivor Series that he missed Batista nailing that move on Booker.can anyone say Heidenreich!

Batista continues to take control of the match nailing the body slam before Undertaker reverses a boot from Batista and begins to make a comeback. Batista and Taker begin to start trading blows until Taker is finally able to take complete control and whips him into the corner followed by a huge clothesline. Another clothesline. Taker sets him up on his shoulders and nails a huge snake eyes followed by a big boot and a leg drop for a two count. Undertaker goes for Old School and nails its and signals for a chokeslam but Batista powers out of it which makes the crowd boo.  Undertaker comes back with his high angled clothesline on Batista. Undertaker follows this by hitting his over the top rope Wrestlemania sucide dive of doom. Taker seems to be in complete control hitting Batista around the ring but going to whip Batista into the timekeepers table but Batista reverses it and sends Taker over the timekeepers table. Batista begins to hammer Undertaker in the corner and sets up powerslamming Undertaker through one announce table from another.

Back into the ring and Batista goes for a cover and gets a two count. Batista reverses a whip, traps Taker into the belly to belly for another two count.  Batista sends Undertaker into the corner and begins to nail his with right handsI wonder what will happen.Undertaker nails a Last ride shocker for a close three count. Batista comes back and nails a spine buster followed by shaking the ropes but Taker sits up and chokeslams Batista for a two count. Undertaker goes for tombstone piledriver but Batista slips out and nails him with a spear and then a Batista Bomb for a extremely close three count. Batista goes for it again but Taker escapes and Batista sets Taker up for a Oklahoma Slam but Taker reverse it into the Tombstone Piledriver for the win. This match was alright actually but it just seems that Undertaker was going through the motions of every recent Wrestlemania title match while Batista seemed set out on stealing the show. Three out of Five for me.

Match Four

World Heavyweight Title, Steel Cage: Edge vs. Batista (06/03/07).

Edge tries to run away as soon as the bell goes but Batista drags him back into the ring as we get the usually Batista start of shoulders in the corner followed by a lot of striking action. Edge continues to try to run away as Batista continues to work on destroying Edge even locking in a camels clutch. Eventually Batista tries to escape so Edge takes the opportunity to attack Batista from behind and began to pummel Batista against the cage. Edge goes back to the door only to have Batista drag him in yet again. See a pattern here? Edge takes the cover off the turnbuckle and goes to smash Batista face into it only to have him reverse it into a running power slam which Edge reverses into the Edge-o-Matic. Edge again goes to escape but Batista is straight after him and then nails a Superplex on Edge. Batista goes to climb but Edge is up on top rope with him but Batista just throws him off and gets set to fly and goes for the flying shoulder block but Edge counters with a dropkick.

Edge gets ready to spear Batista in the corner. As Edge went for a spear so did Batista and both men hit each other at the same time leaving both men on the mat. Batista slams Edge into the cage and begins to take control of the match nailing the Bossman slam for a 2 count. Batista slingshots Edge into the cage which get him a two count. Batista then threw edge head face into the cage. Batista runs at Edge but edge sidesteps it and Batista runs right into the exposed turn buckle and Edge follows it up with a spear for two. Edge goes back to climbing the cage but Batista is hot on his heels and grabs him nailing a spine buster for a two count. Batista gets ready for the Batista Bomb but Edge grabs hold of the cage and begins to scale it but Batista grabs before he can make a escape. Edge low blows Batista followed by Batista slipping off the top rope and getting caught on the top rope. Edge begins to climb again as Batista goes to the door and Batista places his hands onto the floor as Edge dropped to the floor for the win. This match has been my favourite so far on this disc because it had a good mentality of Batista should easily beat someone like Edge but Edge can somehow come away with the victory really good cage match. Three out of Five for me.

Match Five
World Heavyweight Title: Batista vs. The Undertaker (10/28/07).

Now we go to Cyber Sunday as we see Batista taking on Undertaker in a special referee match with the ref being non other then the rattlesnake Stone Cold Steve Austin. As a huge Austin fan back in the late nineties I am already pumped up to watch this match. Austin rings for the bell and Batista charges towards the Undertaker but Taker sidesteps him and levels him with a big boot. This is a nice change because at Wrestlemania Batista and Undertaker did the same beginning but that time Batista nailed the spear so it seems that Undertaker has Batista scouted in a way. Both of them try and get a advantage but it seems that neither man can create a advantage until Taker nails Batista with another huge Big Boot for a one count. Batista takes control and gets Undertaker in the corner and nails him with shoulders in the corner followed by some strikes.

Batista goes to run at Taker but Taker reverse it and gives him a elbow to the head. Taker locks on Hell Gates but Batista makes it to the rope. Undertaker goes to work on Batista shoulder. Batista eventually takes control on the outside and gets Taker back into the ring only for Taker to nail him with a high angled clothesline for a two count. Taker goes for Old School but Batista reverses it and goes for a Superplex of his own but Taker shoves him down. Taker gets down off the top rope and covers Batista for two. Taker gets Batista back up and whips him into the corner and goes charging himself only to crotch himself on the top rope. 

Batista gets in control by whipping Undertaker into the steel steps. Back in the ring Batista continues his assault until Undertaker grabs him tights and throws him back outside the ring. Undertaker gets back in control thanks to a boot and a huge guillotine leg drop as Cole screams Vintage Undertaker. Back in the ring and undertaker goes for Old School but yet again Batista reverse it into a mid air spinebuster but as Batista goes for the cover Undertaker holds on to lock in Hells Gates. Batista begins to fade before powering out both men make it to they feet. Taker goes for the chokeslam but Batista blocks it. Batista whips Taker into the rope and looks for a clothesline but Taker ducks and as Batista turns Taker grabs him and nails a Chokeslam for a close call. Taker signals for the end and goes for a Tombstone Piledriver. Batista slides off, bounces off the rope and nails a spear for a two. Batista is feeling it and he goes for a Batista Bomb but Taker reverse it. Taker runs at Batista but Batista sidesteps and nails a drop toe hold! Batista start hammering Undertaker with rights in the corner until Undertaker counters with the last ride for a two count shocking. Undertaker signals for the end again, gets Batista on his shoulders but Batista slips out as Taker turns around Batista nails him with the Spinebuster for a two count. Batista is shocked. Taker sits up and Batista cant believe it, BATISTA BOMB for a two count. Undertaker slowly gets back to his feet and Batista nails another Batista bomb for the three count. This was miles better then the Wrestlemania match these two had. Both men looked motivated and the double Batista Bomb ending was the perfect thing to do in that situation. It gets three and a half out of five for me.

Match Six

Triple H, Batista & Ric Flair vs. Randy Orton, Edge & Umaga (12/10/07).

The first three members of Evolution come out first, followed by Randy Orton who was WWE Champion at the time. Orton basically says that Evolution suck and that Rated RKO were miles better then Evolution anyway. Ahhhh Rated RKO how awesome. We get a six man tag now as we Flair reverses Edge we get to see Flair nail a few chops before Edge takes control and tags in Umaga. Finally Ric makes the tag after a Randy Orton mistake and Batista runs in and begins to take out Edge and Umaga until Umaga pushes the ref down for the DQ. Then we see Flair, Batista and Tripl H all nailing they finishers to send the crowd home happy. This doesnt really need a rating.


Match Seven

John Cena vs. Batista (08/17/08).

Now it is time for one of the biggest matches to ever happen in the past two years as the animal Batista went one on one with John Cena. Going into this match it was heavily hyped as the blockbuster of the summer with the fans divided in loyalties to which superstar was the best. We start with both men staring at each other followed by the basic power game stuggle between both men. Batista tries for a earlier Batista Bomb but Cena escape only to be nailed with a Jackhammer.

Batista again for the Batsita Bomb but Cena escapes and goes for his FU but Batista slips out and chop blocks him from behind. Batista begins to work on the leg of Batista and then locks in the figure four leglock which gets a chorus of woos from the crowd. Cena finally makes it to the rope, as both men are getting up Cena scoops Batista up and FUs to the outside before falling on the floor holding his knee. Both men get back to they feet Batista runs at Cena who ducks springs off the other rope and nails a running shoulder. Then another, followed by the Protoplex. YOU CANT SEE ME!..5 knuckle shuffle and then gets ready for the FU but Batista slips out yet again. Both men get back up and Batista is first to react nailing a charging spear into the corner fallowed by shoulders. Cena runs out of the corner only to be nail with the Spinebuster. Batista looks for the Batista Bomb but Cena grabs his leg from under him and then snapped it down. Cena locks in the STFU, but Batista finally gets to the ropes.

Cena goes for the FU again but yet again Batista slips out and locks on a chokehold. Batista finally lets go of the hold and spears Cena back down for a two count. Cena reverses the running powerslam into a FU but cant cover straight away so can only get a two count. Cena goes up top but Batista is up and both men begin to trade punches. Batista eventually falls off and Cena goes for the diving Fame Asser but Batista is up and catches him into a Batista Bomb for a two count. Batista can not believe it neither can Michael Cole. Batista eventually nails another Batista Bomb for the three count. This was really a good match and it was made good because of the trading power moves aspect of the match. This just makes me want to see Batista vs. Cena two especially after Batista recent heel turn could makes that match epic. I give this match three and three quarters out of five.

Match Eight

Batista vs. Randy Orton (w/Manu & Cody Rhodes 12/14/08).

We have now come to the last of the matches of this Batista DVD and what a match to finish with. I mean WWE could of easily placed Batista versus Chris Jericho for the world title that would of made more sense then a random match on raw. But atleast this DVD will now be home to the proof that Manu was in Legacy. Orton starts by out wrestling Batista in the early going and sending him to the outside so that Cody and Manu can get some cheap shots in. The ref spots this and sends them both to the back leaving it Orton vs. Batista. Randy takes control of most of the match throwing Batista into the ring post followed by Orton working on the shoulder for a while. Batista comes back but Orton reverses the Batista Bomb into a beautiful looking neck breaker. Then we get a rest hold followed by Batista sending Orton to the floor. Batista backs off but Orton quickly gets on the offences and nails a rope assisted DDT.  Orton continues to work over Batista with stomps and we get another rest hold. Just when we think we are going to see something Orton takes it back to a rest hold. Batista takes control after dropping Orton on his back. Batista goes up top but Orton cuts him off and nails a superplex. Ortons dominance doesnt last long as Batista reverse a whip for a spine buster for a two count. Batista sets up for a Batista Bomb but Orton counters into the RKO but Batista counters the counter and nails a bossman slam for a two. Orton gets back in control and nails the reverse backbreaker. Orton looks ready to nail the RKO again but Batista reverse it into the Mark of Excellence for a two count. Batista picks Orton up but Orton delivers a jawbreaker/DDT stopping Batista in his tracks. Orton looks down and gets ready for his punt of doom kick, Batista reverse it and spinebusters him into the corner. Then begins the shoulder thrust followed by a clothesline and then mounted punches in the corner. Orton tries to counter but ends up in a Batista Bomb for the win. This match was a waste with all the rest holds and Orton being in complete control for most of the time. Still the ending was different and something I have never seen before. two and a half out of five.

Overview

 If I was the buy this DVD it was worth it for the documentary because it was really well done and it makes you see that he really is a emotional man who loves the business. The only thing that brought this down was the fact that if you have seen one Batista main event you have pretty much seem them all and after a while of watching these matches I think I have pretty much burnt out on Batista matches haha. Overall I give the whole set 8 out of 10 just for the documentary alone and if you love Batista you will love the matches and especially this DVD.

Adam


SILVERVISION.CO.UK


Batista: I Walk Alone DVD (3 Discs)


WWE1240



Our Price: 17.99
RRP: 29.99
You save: 12.00


Availibility: In stock
Region: 2
Languages: English, German, French


Approx running time 7 hrs 37 mins


By


Readers Comments (0)


You must be logged in to post a comment.

Latest Articles