wrestle zone uk

Best PPV Matches Of The Year DVD Review

August 1, 2010   ·   0 Comments

WWE Best PPV Matches Of The Year 2009-2010 DVD  Bestppvmatches

Disc 1

Last Man Standing Match for the World Heavyweight Championship
Edge vs. John Cena
Backlash April 26, 2009

ECW Championship Match
Christian vs. Jack Swagger
Backlash April 26, 2009

World Heavyweight Championship Match
Jeff Hardy vs. Edge
Judgment Day May 17, 2009

Mask vs. Intercontinental Championship Match
Rey Mysterio vs. Chris Jericho
The Bash June 28, 2009

6-Pack Challenge for the United States Championship
Kofi Kingston vs. MVP vs. The Miz vs. Jack Swagger vs. Carlito vs. Primo
Night of Champions July 26, 2009

Disc 2
Triple Threat Match for the WWE Championship
John Cena vs. Triple H vs. Randy Orton
Night of Champions July 26, 2009

Intercontinental Championship Match
Dolph Ziggler vs. Rey Mysterio
SummerSlam August 23, 2009

Tables, Ladders & Chairs Match for the World Heavyweight Championship
Jeff Hardy vs. CM Punk
SummerSlam August 23, 2009

I Quit Match for the WWE Championship
John Cena vs. Randy Orton
Breaking Point September 13, 2009

Disc 3
Tag Team Hell in a Cell Match
D Generation X vs. Legacy
Hell in a Cell October 4, 2009

Triple H, Shawn Michaels, Big Show, Mark Henry, Cody Rhodes, Jack Swagger & Kofi Kingston vs. Chris Jericho, Kane, Matt Hardy, Finlay, R-Truth, David Hart Smith & Tyson Kidd
Bragging Rights October 25, 2009

Traditional Survivor Series Match
The Miz, Jack Swagger, Sheamus, Drew McIntyre, & Dolph Ziggler Vs. John Morrison, Evan Bourne, Matt Hardy, Finlay, & Shelton Benjamin
Survivor Series November 22, 2009

Ladder Match for the ECW Championship
Christian vs. Shelton Benjamin
WWE TLC: Tables, Ladders & Chairs December 13, 2009

Womens Championship Match
Michelle McCool vs. Mickie James
Royal Rumble January 31, 2010

Streak vs. Career
The Undertaker vs. Shawn Michaels
WrestleMania 26 March 28, 2010

Special Features:
John Cena discusses his match from Backlash
Christian discusses his match from Backlash
Rey Mysterio discusses his match from The Bash
Kofi Kingston discusses his match from Night of Champions
Rey Mysterio discusses his match from SummerSlam
John Cena discusses his match from Breaking Point
Cody Rhodes & Ted DiBiase discuss their match from Hell in a Cell
Matt Hardy discusses his match from Bragging Rights
The Miz discusses his match from Survivor Series

When this little gem fell onto my doormat I instantly though it was a winner just looking at the title! Whoever thought up this DVD needs a pat on the back for sure, as for the actual CHOICES…

Disc one starts with the Edge vs John Cena match from Backlash in 09. Already I’m sold! Introduced by Michael Cole and Matt Striker, this 3 set DVD goes from just after WrestleMania ’09 (with the Backlash match) right through to WrestleMania 2010 with Shawn Michaels’ retirement match rather than through the calendar month. (I guess it is WWE’s calendar anyway!) Hopefully this means that this DVD will be a regular annual release! Striker and Cole do not feature between every match, only a few; and there are video montages before each one to remind us of what was going on at the time the match took place.
I was surprised the WWE still included Jeff Hardy in this set (pleasantly!) since I thought they’d eliminate all evidence of ‘TNA’ stars, but I’m glad nonetheless, and I suppose they can still make some money off Hardy even though he’s no longer with the company!
Lots of Christian matches too which is a bonus; especially his fantastic ECW bout against Swagger at Backlash 2009 and the Ladder match in January 2010 against Shelton Benjamin.
Although I may not agree with all of the choices (for example where are the Elimination Chamber matches?), I do think that having NO Batista on there is testement to the quality of the guy’s wrestling, and my personal opinion of him!
Favourites of this three disc set are definatly the opening Cena Vs Edge Last Man Standing, Christian vs Swagger at Backlash09, TLC Hardy Vs Punk, Hardy vs Edge at Judgement Day and of course the Ultimate, Shawn Michaels vs The Undertaker, Streak vs Carreer from WrestleMania 2010!
I recomend this DVD to any wrestling fan. It’s especially great if you don’t buy the pay per Views when they air because you get the chance to see (mostly) the best bits!
Special Features are some of the Superstars talking about their matches, which is something new! (Thumbs up!)

8/10

Sue

Available from SilverVision.co.uk

WWE Best PPV Matches Of The Year 2009-2010 DVD (3 Discs)
WWE1258
Our Price: 17.99
RRP: 29.99
You save: 12.00
Availibility: In stock
Region: 2
Languages: English, German, French
Subtitles: English Hard of Hearing

Approx running time 6 hrs 56 mins

By


Readers Comments (0)


You must be logged in to post a comment.

Latest Articles