wrestle zone uk

John Morrison – Rock Star! DVD Review

April 16, 2010   ·   0 Comments

John Morrison – Rock Star!
DVD Review

Hes the Shaman of Sexy, the Friday Night Delight. John Morrison is one of WWEs best and brightest rising stars, having held numerous tag team championships, first as part of MNM and then with The Miz. Hes also had great solo success, earning the ECW and Intercontinental championships. The DVD is packed with bonus matches, interviews, Dirt Sheet segments, and more.

Morrison

The Dream Begins

ECW Championship Match
John Morrison vs. CM Punk
ECW September 4, 2007

Best of the Dirt Sheet

Miz & Morrison vs. D-Generation-X (Triple H and Shawn Michaels)
RAW November 3, 2008

Straight from the Palace of Wisdom

John Morrison vs. Evan Bourne
ECW April 14, 2009

Parkour Training

John Morrison vs. Chris Jericho
WWE Superstars June 11, 2009

The Shaolin Master of Movement

John Morrison vs. Edge
SmackDown June 19, 2009

Anatomy of the Aerial Attack

John Morrison vs. CM Punk
SmackDown June 26, 2009

Making a Surfboard

World Heavyweight Championship Match
John Morrison vs. Jeff Hardy
SmackDown July 31, 2009

One with the Ocean

Intercontinental Championship Match
John Morrison vs. Rey Mysterio
SmackDown September 4, 2009

The Journey Continues

Bonus Features
John Morrison is Born
ECW July 17, 2007

A lot of people have said it’s way too soon for John Morrison to have his own DVD, but in this day and age I’m surprised we haven’t seen the best of Hornswoggle! This, for me, was a very much anticipated DVD release and I wasn’t disapointed! I’ve liked this guy since his Tough Enough days and followed his career and his various characters over the years and I admit, the ‘Morrison’ character didn’t immediatly appeal to me, but it’s grown on me more and more and now I’m sold!
The Dirt Sheet segment is hillarious, with skits about HBK (Captain High Pants) and the Finlay Brothers beating each other up in a bar.. this segment had me rolling I loved it! I didn’t always catch it when they put it up on WWE.com every week so I hope sometime in the future they put together some sort of collection, maybe as a bonus feature on a DVD. It almost makes me wish Morrison and Miz were still together!
The Palace Of Wisdom chapter is Morrison sitting on a beach answering questions sent in by members of the WWE Universe. He answers questions from ‘What would you be if you weren’t a WWE Superstar?’ to ‘How did you think up your nicknames?’ to ‘Do they serve chocolate at the Palace Of Wisdom?’
We then get to see John in some of his Par’Kour training which is amazing to watch; I don’t know if any of the other wrestlers do this sort of training but they definatly Should! It has to be seen to be believed! Another chapter shows us how he appplies this training in his matches, and also how he does it before an event, leaping all over empty arenas, jumping the bar, climbing up the seats, leaping off stair wells and over packing crates. As I said, it has to be seen to be believed!
This also helps Morrison perfect his ariel moves, which he explains in the ‘Anatomy of the Aerial Attack’ chapter. How he came up with Starship Pain and his other moves, when he first used them and why. A very interesting chapter.
One of Morrison’s favourite passtimes is Surfing and he takes us to see his friend making a board, then we get to watch him in the waves as he explains his love for the ocean.
The personal chapters are interspersed with matches spanning his WWE singles career over the past 2 – 3 years with some excellent stuff against CM Punk,Mysterio and Edge. Unfortunatly only one of his tag team matches, albeit a good one, with his partner Miz against DX is featured, nothing about his days with MNM.
The one thing that lets this DVD down is lack of history. We hear a very tiny tiny part of where he grew up, no old photos, no highschool memories or anything like that, it’s all about the wrestling carreer. I guess they’re saving all of that stuff for his next DVD! 🙂
Great bonus feature seeing how we were introduced to the John Morrison character, saying goodbye to the Johnny Nitro one and (not so) welcoming the new character, which is not something the WWE usually do!
I highly reccomend this DVD and I’m glad it’s in my collection!

Available from SILVERVISION

Our Price: 10.99
RRP: 17.99
You save: 7.00

Availibility: In stock
Region: 2
Languages: English, German, French
Subtitles: English Hard of Hearing

Approx running time 2 hrs 50 mins

By


Readers Comments (0)


You must be logged in to post a comment.

Latest Articles