wrestle zone uk

Wrestling’s Highest Flyers DVD Review

January 21, 2011   ·   0 Comments

Wrestling’s Highest Flyers DVD (3 Discs)

Review by SueHighFlyers

Chapters:

A Different Stratosphere

Ricky Steamboat

Ricky Steamboat vs. Brian Pillman
Halloween Havoc October 25, 1992

Evan Bourne

Evan Bourne vs. Zack Ryder
Superstars June 11, 2009

Sky-View with Evan Bourne

Jimmy “Superfly” Snuka

Jimmy “Superfly” Snuka vs. Samu
Madison Square Garden February 20, 1984

New Style

WCW Cruiserweights

Juventud Guerrera, Hector Garza, Lizmark Jr. vs. La Parka, Psychosis, Villano IV
Bash at the Beach July 13, 1997

Shelton Benjamin

Gold Rush Tournament Match
Shawn Michaels vs. Shelton Benjamin
RAW May 2, 2005

Ultimo Dragon

J-Crown Cruiserweight Championship Match
Ultimo Dragon vs. Rey Mysterio Jr.
World War 3 November 24, 1996

Eddie Guerrero

ECW World Television Championship Match
Eddie Guerrero vs. Dean Malenko
Hardcore TV July 21, 1995

Special Features

Ultimo Dragon vs. Psychosis
Uncensored March 16. 1997

Chavo Guerrero vs. Jamie Noble
SmackDown April 18, 2008

Sky-Cam with Jamie Noble

Flight Turbulence

Degree of Difficulty

Chris Jericho

WCW Cruiserweight Championship Match
Chris Jericho vs. Ultimo Dragon
Bash at the Beach July 13, 1997

1-2-3 Kid

1-2-3 Kid vs. Hakushi
SummerSlam August 27, 1995

Sky-View with John Morrison

John Morrison

John Morrison vs. Tyson Kidd
Superstars July 30, 2009

High Flying Duos

Tag Teams

WWE Tag Team Championship Triangle Ladder Match
Hardy Boyz vs. Dudley Boyz vs. Edge / Christian
WrestleMania 2000 April 2, 2000

Super Crazy

3-Way Dance
Tajiri vs. Super Crazy vs. Little Guido
ECW One Night Stand June 12, 2005

Brian Pillman

Brian Pillman vs. Alex Wright
Great American Bash June 18, 1995

Great Muta

Great Muta vs. Sting
Japan Supershow March 21, 1991

Rob Van Dam

Hardcore Championship Match
Jerry Lynn vs. Rob Van Dam
Sunday Night Heat August 5, 2001

Special Feature

The Hardy Boyz vs. Kai En Tai
Sunday Night Heat September 27, 1998

Shawn Michaels

WWE Championship Match
Shawn Michaels vs. Vader
SummerSlam August 18, 1996

Flash Funk

ECW World Television Championship Match
2 Cold Scorpio vs. Sabu
CyberSlam February 17, 1996

Sky-View with Kofi Kingston

Kofi Kingston

Intercontinental Championship Tournament Finals
Kofi Kingston vs. Christian
SmackDown May 14, 2010

Aerodynamics

WWE Light Heavyweights

WWE Light Heavyweight Championship Match
Taka Michinoku vs. Pantera
In Your House: No Way Out February 15, 1998

Lita

WWE Women’s Championship Match
Lita vs. Trish Stratus
RAW December 6, 2004

Sabu

ECW World Television Championship Match
Sabu vs. Rob Van Dam
Guilty as Charged January 9, 2000

Jeff Hardy

Steel Cage Match
Jeff Hardy vs. Umaga
RAW January 7, 2008

Rey Mysterio

WCW Cruiserweight Championship Match
Rey Mysterio Jr. vs. Eddie Guerrero
Halloween Havoc October 26, 1997

Special Feature

WCW Cruiserweight Championship Match
Juventud Guerrero vs. Billy Kidman
World War 3 November 22, 1998

I was always a fan of the high flyers, aside from Rey Mysterio who never really crawled into my favourite zone, I remember watching guys like Kidman, Guerrera and Guerrero with awe! This three disc DVD was something I was really looking forward to seeing, did it live up to my expectations?

Roughly 8 hours of electrifying, matches on this DVD set; the kind of matches that you daren’t fast forward or walk away from because you’re BOUND to miss some crazy high-risk manoeuvre (or two!)
Introduced by Josh Matthews, the DVD kicks off with a look at one of the ‘first’ high flyers Ricky ‘The Dragon’ Steamboat; including a couple of clips from his last run against Chris Jericho which was a great mark out moment for me! We’re then treated to a fantastic match from years gone by between the Dragon and the late Brian Pillman from Halloween Havoc in 1992.

Straight from the past to the present with a look a t Evan Bourne, one of my kids favourites (since he’s also called Evan!) but not one I’d really pay to see myself. Maybe I’m just getting old! After we see a match between him and Zack Ryder they then have the crazy-but-great idea of strapping a camera onto Evan Bourne so he can show us what he sees when executing the ‘Air-bourne’ move from the top rope.
Back to basics with one of the greatest high flyers ever, Jimmy Snucker! A great look at Superfly and then a match between him and Samu from 1984.
Next up is a fantastic look at the old WCW cruiserweights, including Malenko and Juventud the video montage shows some awesome death-defying moves from the cruiserweights at the peak of their careers. We’re then treated to a 6 man tag from WCW finest Cruiserweights; Juventud Guerrera, Hector Garza, Lizmark Jr. vs. La Parka, Psychosis, Villano IV at Bash At The Beach in 1997.
Shelton Benjamin is featured next, I am slightly surprised by this pick since they have so many past and present to choose from but that’s my bias-against-Benjamin coming though I suppose. But it does give them a fantastic excuse to include his match for the Gold Rush tournament against HBK from 2005, I remember this fondly but it’s fabulous to see it again!
Disc one concludes with looks at Ultimo Dragon and the much loved and missed Eddie Guerrero.

Disc 2 starts with another of my sentimental favourites, Chris Jericho! The video montages of each guy they look at are exceptionally well put together and this one shows a lot of Jericho’s stuff from WCW and ECW. I would think that with the wealth of footage from Jericho’s career theyd be able to make 10 3 set DVD’s and not repeat anything!
Then we go to another Bash At The Beach match and a young ‘Lionheart’ Chris Jericho facing Ultimo Dragon for his WCW Cruiserweight Championship.
Next up they take a look at X-Pac ‘the 123 Kid’ and then straight onto John Morrison with the camera strapped to his chest to show us what he sees while executing the ‘Starship pained’ manoeuvre.. which is so quick that we basically see ceiling and mat and it’s over!
Then on to another fabulous video montage dedicated to Morrison (he’ll always be Nitro to me!) amd from that to Superstars from 2009 and a match between him and Tyson Kidd that I’d never seen before so that was a definite bonus!
Tag Teams is the next chapter – some of my all times faves are featured such as The Hardys and E&C and the ones I’ve learned to love from years gone by such as The Rockers! I do have to say there will never be as great a time for me as a wrestling fan as the days of Hardys/E&C/Dudleys/Acolytes. Ah the good old days!
We’re then honoured to have included on this DVD the Triangle Ladder match from WrestleMania in 2000. Just hearing their old Entrance themes gives me goose bumps! A fantastic match that you really need to see if you’re a wrestling fan!
There are more fantastic chapters on this Disc, including The Great Muta, Brian Pillman and Super Crazy with some footage that a lot of people wouldn’t have seen before from a Japan Super show back in 1991.
The disc closes out with a look at Rob Van Dam and a match for the Hardcore title between him and Jerry Lynn.

Disc three is equally as jam-packed as the other two, kicking off with my ultimate favourite ever superstar, Shawn Michaels. Nothing that I haven’t seen before but still awesome to see again, I can’t quite believe he’s retired!! Another great video package on Shawn before we get to see HBK vs. Vader for the WWF Championship back in 1996. Brilliant chapter!
Also included on this disc is a segment on Kofi Kingston who straps on the camera to show us ‘Sky view’ of his move the ‘Boom Drop’. He climbs a ladder to about 12 feet and does the drop and once again it’s pretty much too fast to see anything anyways! And Kofi vs. Christian is another great match to see!
The rest of the disc is full of Lita, Light heavyweights, Sabu, Rey Mysterio and the magnificent Jeff Hardy!

This set is also packed with special features including a WCW Cruiserweight match between Juventud and Kidman, Chavo vs. Jamie Nobel, A Sky Cam segment with Nobel and the awesome Hardyz Vs Kai-En-Tai from Sunday Night Heat way back in 1998!

This disc kept me enthralled from start to finish, there was nothing on here I needed to skip at all!
10/10 thanks WWE!

Available from Silvervision HERE

WWE1252

Our Price: 17.99
RRP: 29.99
You save: 12.00

Availibility: In stock
Region: 2
Languages: English, German, French
Subtitles: English Hard of Hearing

Approx running time 7 hrs 37 mins

By


Readers Comments (0)


You must be logged in to post a comment.

Latest Articles